Hidden corners and paths.

I am late again today!
I took the photo on my 5 mile circular walk this morning.
Stephen had a Board Meeting (Zoom!) from 10.00am - 3.00pm with a break for lunch.
I met one or two walkers on my way but other than that enjoyed my favourite field paths walking at times alongside new mown grass which always brings with it that sense of summer moving on inexorably till autumn slips into view.
I find it poignant.
The house in the picture is partly hidden by the vegetation and somewhat ramshackle. Yet it has a feel of history.
Two of the windows are at the level of the path. One is a kitchen, as you can’t really help noticing the clutter of things within.
There are slates slipping off the roof.
On I went.
Eventually arriving home about 1.00pm.
Last night I woke almost instinctively just before midnight and donned my dressing-gown to go outside into the garden.
The stars were clear in the sky.
The air was velvety and smelled of that damp vegetation you get when the residual warmth of the day has dissipated and the coolness seeps in.
I located the Great Bear as instructed in the information about how to find Comet NeoWise. Looking slightly to the right of the “square” bit of the plough shape, then moving my binoculars down towards the horizon, I found it!
It was 8 minutes past 12.00.
I was so thrilled. It has a long tail.
The sky was a little hazy but there it was visible in our Solar System until it goes off on its wandering way out into outer space.
I will most likely be out there again tonight if I waken. I find these Universe wanderers fascinating. I’m not into Astronomy but can recognise various constellations as my dad used to point them out when I was small.
This afternoon I had my French Conversation session on Zoom.
It was then time for tea when I realised I hadn’t posted my Blip!
I’ll be late with comments now!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.