A Day In The Life

By Irish59

Blast From The Past

We got out early this morning to do grocery shopping and when leaving the parking lot, I spotted this old car on a trailer. Of course I pulled over to take a quick shot with my phone • If any of you recognize what it is, please feel free to share. I was moved by it because it reminded me of my maternal Grandfather, Grandpa Sweeney • Growing up in NH my Mom and I visited my grandparents at least once per week, usually on Saturdays, and during the summer I often stayed overnight • A favorite memory is riding in my Grandfather’s stripped-down Model A Ford, or what the family called it, The Old Jalopy. It only had a driver’s seat so as a passenger I sat on a block of wood, with my hand gripping the edge of the windshield. We never went very fast, and he always pulled over to the edge of the road to let any traffic accumulating behind him go by. Grandpa Sweeney often swore at them as they passed. In fact, he swore quite a lot, but he also carried a song in his heart. He was a jolly Irishman, born in County Kerry. I loved being with him, on the Old Jalopy, smelling the fresh air, listening to Mother Machree, feeling the sun on my face. Simpler times, and cherished memories • Slow down, you move too fast...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.