LesTension

By LesTension

ECHINACEA (ConeFlowers) AND BEES

My coneflowers are in full bloom and the Honey Bees (Apis mellifera) have discovered them. It's so good to see honey bees. They have been in low supply lately due to a number of factors. 

I was shooting for 20 minutes and there were as many as 50 of them buzzing around within inches of me. Not a one was bothered by my photographic attempts...they just went about their work and let me alone.

These worker bees (sterile females) live only about 2 or 3 weeks in summer...they literally work themselves to death and are replaced by newly produced workers. They live longer in winter, several months, because they are not so active and are typically confined to the hive. Queens can live 3-5 years.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.