Slightly Wet....

......well, actually very wet. Large for more

This morning early we went for our walk, it was sunny and warm...we were back with nature, the birds were happy and very loud, the lambs were frolicking in the paddocks and the moos grazing along our road side seemed particularly friendly.  It really was bliss.

Back to my blip, there is a story attached to this - my North Island Zoom group have set this two weekly topic as "from ground level". Having not even thought of this while the family were here, and our Zoom is this Friday I though best to get myself a few images to show and tell . So this afternoon, while inside I snaked around the floor (hard work) and did some more abstract ones using the 50mm at f/1.4.  
This afternoon we went to the beach and we were really surprised how rough and aggressive the sea was.  
If you look closely you may notice a line above the smooth water and just below the crashing waves.  Beyond that is probably a metre bank carved by the waves.  Every now and then a wave would crash up and over that bank and I got a few reasonable photos I thought would show ground level.  Then just before we left I settled myself behind this rather large tree drift wood.  Not because of safety but because I though it would frame the image nicely.  I sat myself down and clicked off a few of the crashing waves, then OMG this huge rouge wave came crashing in right over the top of the drift wood and totally drenching me.  I managed to take this photo as it receded. You can see the drips falling from the wood.  Doug was behind me laughing, I wasn't in danger but it did give me a fright initially, then fits of laughter followed.  Home for a shower and a change of clothing, camera seems to be OK.

Google says Rogue waves (also known as freak waves, monster waves, episodic waves, killer waves, extreme waves, and abnormal waves) are unusually large, unexpected and suddenly appearing surface waves that can be extremely dangerous, even to large ships such as ocean liners..... I will add to that photographers !!!!

Rainie

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.