Tuesday's painting...

... I had promised myself a little trip out to the fabric mills at Mostyn, this morning.

I was not going to do any food shopping today, but I passed through a different town so I stopped to see what it was like to shop there.

It was absolutely nothing like shopping at the shops close to me where this guy laughed at me last week for wearing a face mask and I got weird looks etc for wearing a face mask. This different town was friendly, people smiled at me as in smiling generally, and said good morning and I said good morning and the fact that I wore a face mask didn't initiate any bad feelings or any bad looks at all. Everyone was extremely friendly. I have a couple of nice conversations with strangers when I was waiting in a queue. But no one was wearing face masks but that was ok for me, it's other people's choice what they do, and in this town they were respecting my choice for wearing a face mask. There were other plus points about this town, so you know where I will be going for my food shopping and future.

So that part of my morning was good.

Then I went on to the fabric mills. And that was a huge disappointment.

They had closed down the craft building completely and that was now up for rent. The only building that was open was the main building and the small building next to it which sells wools. Also the lift was not working in the main building so I couldn't get up stairs to find my cottons I needed to make my face masks. Then they had closed down the men's toilets and women's toilets completely, there was a separate toilet block outside, and the only toilet open was the disabled toilet, consequently everyone was queuing for the one toilet and children were running around screaming everywhere. So I got in my car and drove home to use my toilet but barely made it.

It is mostly oldies who shop at the fabric mills so the current setup is absolutely inappropriate for just about every one of their customers.

So I went back onto eBay where I had been choosing some fabrics and I've now ordered them. I'm afraid now just about all of my shopping, which is not food shopping is going to be done online. The shops need to do something better if they want to keep customers. I have always believed in supporting local businesses, but I cannot continue to do so as an elderly disabled person if the above experience becomes the norm.


I was shattered when I got back and I've been asleep the last 3 hours. But the plus thing, was I found a new place to shop for my food shopping and it was extremely pleasant to shop there, so I'm happy about the way the day turned out.


Okay, painting today in ZenBrush2.
Mountains and waterfalls...took me about an hour. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.