Monday's painting...

...I was just tidying in my study/art room, when I looked in the mirror and saw smoke and flames coming out of the top of my floor standing halogen uplighter. And I think my brain is playing tricks on me. Then I look at the actual uplighter...0h no...I opened the door into the garden quickly. Unplugged the uplighter. Carried this flaming torch into the garden and left it out there.

The uplighter is more than 30 years old. I have a second one, same age in the front room....

Lucky escape. No I didn’t smell it, I lost my sense of smell as a result of the cochlear operation. And neither did the fire alarms go off. I cannot hear a fire alarm even with the speech processor on. They flash a light, but I wouldn’t have seen the nearest one from where I was standing.

The first thing I did in this bungalow when I moved here was to have a door put in every room to the outside. I have been caught in a fire before where I had to climb down a rope ladder from the second floor of an old building to escape from fire. So, me getting these doors to the back garden put in just in case there might be a fire, has saved my bacon nearly 20 years later.

Friends laughed at me saying you don’t need all those doors, even the door installer who had to knock out bricks and stuff, thought I was crackers for wanting so many doors to the outside.

I would do the same again if I ever moved house.

It was not my morning. My battery operated can opener didn’t work. It had new batteries in from a couple of months ago. So I thought I might as well try to change batteries. But when I took first one out there was clear liquid on my hands, so I washed my hands quickly a few times. Then got the other batteries out safely. The date on them was 2024 so this shouldn’t have happened. 

Cleaned it up. Cleaned the terminals. New batteries, and can opener now works. 

Kept washing hands. I could still feel that battery acid. 

My attempt in ZenBrush2 today. It is Popeye asleep and you cannot see any of his white fur, so I made him a black cat! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.