Melting Glaciers, Disintegrating Névés

..... how the Alps have changed since Danielle (see extra) and I were climbing in our twenties, just half a century ago! The Glacier de Mont Mine you can see in the background, came down almost to the flat area in 1971, I just checked on my old map! Global warming is very evident in the Alps. Sadly for future generations, many wonderful classic routes are now unclimbable and even no longer in existence. An unusually sober blip for my 3,000th. Thanks to so many of you who continue to follow my journal, you keep me going out even when I sometimes don’t feel like it. I am always glad that I did! Like last night, trying to locate the comet, we found it, but oh so faintly. At least I did see it. You might be able to see it if you look at the second extra, in for the record.

P.S. Huge thanks for all the appreciation for yesterday’s sunset on the mountains, just back blipped this afternoon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.