The thinnings

are so sweet, pulling them leaves the others to get plump, so a win win.
I went to the plot this morning after writing out a couple of posters advertising the free horse manure while eating breakfast. I put a bit of a spurt on as I was off to meet Jos for a doodling session at the church ruins we visited a couple of weeks back. I watered the toms, beans, courgettes & squash. The turnip seed is germinating, gave them a watering along with the parsnip, & beetroot seed plus the beetroot seedlings I'd transplanted. Pulled out the borage & pot marigold from around the blueberry plants. Cut some of the leaves away from around the courgette plants, then the Patti pan squash. There were fruits I had'nt noticed so harvested those. I pulled beetroot, lifted 5 potato haulms, they were much better than the earlier plants. Plenty of spuds of a more regular size. Beans .. runners & French, courgettes, & sweet peas all picked.  Job done!
Whizzed home, quick change then down to the Holy trinity church ruins. I took a couple of directors chairs, & lunch for us both, a slice of homemade quiche. We found a spot that we both liked in the shade, just about to start when a chap appeared, he was having a mooch about, then we got into conversation. He's a professional musician, a saxophonist, lives & works in London, but visits his elderly mother who lives locally. He spoke about how the ruins would make a wonderful venue for the performing arts, & we had to agree but doubt it would ever come to fruition. Health & safety issues. A nice bloke .. he left then we had to get our heads down ... We sat in silence, unusual for us, concentrating on our challenge. I saw a face in the stonework. We left after about 3hours, & headed to Buckfast Abbey for some refreshments. Only takeaway, but we enjoyed our drink sat in the shade before walking around the grounds. I found out that I can't suck through a straw & swallow. Something I was'nt aware of until today. Not the end f the world. I just drank my Rhubarb crush out of the bottle. A little uncouth but necessary.  Jos wants to giver her garden a makeover, there were a few plants that she liked, that I fortunately was able to identify. We're going to have a site meeting next week .. lol!!
Back home, cider o'clock ... perfect timing.
I made a lovely salad with the Patty pan 'Sunburst' squash, slicing them thinly then tossing them in a little dressing of  EVOO, lime juice, honey & fresh herbs (chives, mint & lemon thyme).  They went with the cold chicken, baby beets above, & sweet red peppers perfectly. Hubby had a Thai green curry which actually got the seal of approval.
There was a question about the Bird of Paradise on The Chase this evening, & I immediately thought of the song 'May the Bird of Paradise Fly Up Your Nose' ... do you know it?
Thanks to dbifulco for hosting Tiny Tuesday

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.