BRIDGE that gap with a mullein snack

Apologies!! I've been out enjoying myself today. A childhood friend is home from Barbados visiting her parents, so we lunched up on the moor after a drive around. Too hot to walk anywhere but we nipped down to the The Olde Inn, Widecombe-in-the-Moor on the off chance that someone might have handed in a OS map of Dartmoor that Jane purchased at the weekend during a visit, then left  behind. It had'nt been handed in, but worth the detour. We had lunch on the terrace at the Moorland hotel which was reasonably quiet, most folks headed for the coast on such a glorious day no doubt. There were a few mares with foals, plus a flock of small black sheep which I'm trying to identify, either the Ouessant breed native to the Isle of Ouessant an island off the coast of Brittany, or the Hebridean, on the moor itself.
Hubby has gone up to Somerset to see some of his family. He had'nt decided if he was going or not when I left home this morning. I walked Indie trying to keep in the shade as much as possible, she jumped in the pond to cool off half way around our walk, had a coffee with Mum for half an hour before  picking Jane up. I did'nt check on the subject for Wide Wednesday until I arrived home this afternoon by which time it was very warm, so the Mullein virtually devoid of leaves became the blip subject. They've munched their way down 3/4 of the stem, just a few large leaves at the bottom which will probably be gone by tomorrow afternoon.
I've been able to watch some of my preferred tv viewing this evening which made a pleasant change, sat on the floor as it was cooler than sat on the sofa. I'm not complaining ... but it's flippin' hot!!! Rain on Saturday :-D Which reminds me ... I brought the onions back from the plot this morning to dry hanging from the slats in the greenhouse staging.

Thanks to BobsBlips for hosting

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.