twinned with trumpton

By MrFT

With the impending arrival of the Ciglettes, I took my last chance to get a bike ride this month and headed north over the Forth. Along the south cosdtline of Fife through the villages that dot the coastline after the abomination that is Rosyth. A meandering slog into the breeze, with plenty of reflection form the last time I passed this way on the Fife Coastal Path in - early 2017?

I grabbed food and liquid at Kincardine, cross to the right side of the Forth and from bucolic to barren as the flatlands of Skinflats set me on my way. A quick glance at the Kelpies and past the most unlikely of ski slops at Polmont and I managed to harness the mostly westerly wind to assist through Linlithgow and Winchburgh at a reasonable lick; the noise of the airport has returned I noted as I hit the outskirts of town; and finally the all too familiar human version of Frogger that is Cramond / Silverknowes. Still, it's an easy wind assisted 5km to finish on. From there, I pretty much turned straight around as I'd agree to spend my last afternoon of 'freedom' with Her (she finishes at 1 on a Monday), but....

The lass was determined to join her chums out camping on Blackford HIll, despite numerous indiscretions. And She decided this was the hill to die on. So I waited in the Meadows to see if things cooled (they didn't) and so eventually I was handed a hoover and a chicken and off I went homewards. Saturday was delayed so She could shop with the lad aheado fhis Ibiza trip, Sunday also was severely curtailed for no good reason and now this.... a great way to start 3 weeks without seeing much of each other. Oh well. 115km with no great pain is a bonus though. The much fought for fitness is there to be lost now. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.