A Walk Through Deb's Life

By debsthoughts

Owen Eats Sushi

This is my grandson. He will be three years old next month and he loves sushi. We have to guide him away from the spicy options and he doesn't use extra wasabi. Ok, he pretty much sticks with the California roll but he also loves Edamame (soybeans in the shell), which I think is pretty amazing. He hasn't learned the art of using chop sticks yet.

We were lucky enough to be able to go to dinner with the kids and grandkids tonight. We both needed an O&O fix and it didn't take long to feel the joy that these two bring us. We are planning a fun-filled weekend with all the kids too. More joy, I'm so happy to be back home. The restaurant has a small gong that they sound when customers are being seated. They were nice enough to let Owen hit it once for fun. So when Owen was done eating I asked him if he wanted to go hit the gong again. He and I were on the opposite side of a rice paper screen (the rest of the family couldn't see us). I held Owen's hand with the gong in it and whispered, "Ok, let's hit it really hard." So we did. My daughter and her hubby both yelled for Owen to stop that. I sheepishly poked my head around the screen and told them it was Nana. I don't know why they thought they needed to scold him, I had everything under control.

Today I am grateful for my comfortable bed, close family relationships, and the sushi gong.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.