Wound up in Wexford

By Neatwithice

Stained glass?

4 months ago, an ornament caught my eye on Facebook.  In extras, you can see one of the pictures that I have downloaded from the website.  It was described as "a stained glass ornament", and the list of materials included "Spectrum glass"  We thought it was rather attractive, and would look good on the window in our garden room.

I could see that the firm selling it was in the USA.  But once I had paid for it and received an acknowledgement, it became obvious that the ornament would be shipped from China!  It has taken 4 months to get here, during which time I have had a moderately acrimonious email exchange with the folks who call themselves Customer Support.

It arrived today, and as you can see, it is a tacky bit of plastic, nothing like the website photo or description.  Luckily, I paid for it using Paypal, so I have raised an issue in their "Resolution Centre", and am reasonably confident that if it comes to a full dispute, I will get my money back!  And if not, well I'll just need to dismiss it from my mind and write the money off.  I will NOT be displaying this bit of tat, and will look for something more attractive on Etsy or similar as a present to myself.

This has occupied a significant amount of my time and energy today - so although I do have a reasonable photo of a peacock butterfly taken during a wander around the garden this evening, I felt that this was more appropriate as a record of my day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.