Folkie Booknerd

By Folkiebooknerd

In Rainbows

It feels like ages since I last Blipped. I’ve been taking photos most days but somehow I just haven’t been ‘feeling it’.

But today I made my second ferry journey into Liverpool city centre in the last 4 months or so, and was suddenly back in my comfort zone, surrounded by interesting people to photograph!

It was fun to meet up with my pal Jill, once again, for a wander along Bold Street, and a chance to see the new pedestrianised scenario there, with outdoor seating areas at most of the many restaurants, cafés and coffee shops. We also popped into the newly re-opened News From Nowhere bookshop (one of Liverpool’s greatest treasures), where I bought a couple of books. I say they’re newly re-opened but in fact they’ve been doing an amazing job via mail order and bike deliveries during lockdown, and I’m sure these will continue to play a big part in their future, alongside physical sales in the shop itself.

We found a table outside Bold Street Coffee and had a good catch-up over our respective steaming beverages. During a brief shower, I also took the opportunity to ask this customer at a neighbouring table whether I could take their photograph as they looked so good with their rainbow brolly and snazzy ‘They, Them, Theirs’ bow tie.

Afterwards, we unexpectedly ran into some more of our book club members, which was a nice surprise.

Then it was time to catch the ferry home again - fully masked-up, of course. It felt ‘almost’ like old times, but I still feel very nervous about being around so many people, and anxious about touching stuff. Liberal dollops of hand gel were applied throughout my visit! I think it’s going to take me quite a while to feel relaxed in this new reality.

Today’s tune is Kevin Rowland’s rendition of ‘Rag Doll’ from his newly reissued 1999 album ‘My Beauty’ https://youtube.com/watch?v=Xo9SbrsV3T8 This is a great video, also featuring Kevin’s grandson Roo, which captures changing attitudes to gender identity and gender presentation over the last 21 years. This article about it is well worth a read www.theguardian.com/music/2020/jul/21/kevin-rowland-interview-dexys-midnight-runners-covid-19-my-beauty-dress-stockings?CMP=Share_iOSApp_Other

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.