Folkie Booknerd

By Folkiebooknerd

Fakin’ It

Listening to some Simon and Garfunkel this morning I was gripped by the urge to pay tribute to the cover photo from their 1968 album ‘Bookends’. The original image was the work of the great photographer Richard Avedon www.moma.org/collection/works/188967 Mine is a rather dubious double exposure. Respectful apologies to Paul, Art and Richard!

I know it’s not particularly seasonal (at least in this hemisphere), but here’s one of my favourite tracks from the album, ‘A Hazy Shade of Winter’ www.youtube.com/watch?v=M3nswy0LNsE 

Paul Simon’s words strike me as particularly pertinent right now...

“Hang onto your hopes my friend
That's an easy thing to say
But if your hopes should pass away
Simply pretend
That you can build them again.”

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.