Folkie Booknerd

By Folkiebooknerd

On me ‘ead, son!

I took my courage in my (carefully washed and gelled) hands today and caught a bus into town for the first time since lockdown began - suitably masked-up, of course. It’s something I’ve been dreading doing but I figured I couldn’t avoid it forever. Besides, I had a good reason to be motivated...

My favourite coffee shop, Lovelock’s, is just open for business again and I was determined to show my support AND avail myself of some lunch. The first meal I haven’t prepared for myself since the last time I was there 4 months or so ago. Heaven! I was overjoyed to be back and to see the gang again!

Whilst I was there I bumped into this fine fellow. John is the CEO of Liverpool Homeless Football Club https://liverpoolhomelessfootballclub.com and is based in the same building as I would be if I wasn’t still working from home! It’s a fantastic organisation and has kept busy providing food for homeless people whilst they’ve been housed by the local authority over the past few months. The council is determined that nobody should be forced back into rough sleeping in the weeks to come, and I hope they will be able to stick to that policy, despite their dire financial situation. 

John told me that football games between local homeless teams are due to resume again next week, and I hope that the resumption goes smoothly. I’ve attended some of the matches over the past year, and I know how much they mean to the players.

Today’s song is ‘Two Halves’ by Richard Dawson https://youtube.com/watch?v=NkSvn23fbAg. I absolutely love this song, and the video, and it reminds me of seeing Richard perform it live back in November www.blipfoto.com/entry/2645209061800283062

Sadly, I suspect it’s going to be quite a while before I get to go to a gig again...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.