The night sky

I wasn't expecting to go out last night to take photo of Comet Neowise as the forecast was for cloud but as I looked out at the sky at 10.30pm I realised it was fairly clear.  On checking my phone I had a message from a friend saying he was heading out to the Geoneedle at Exmouth tonight and did I want to come.  At such short notice I decided it would be good to go out but I would stay local since the route to budleigh beach is more straightforward than finding the coastal path at night.  Anyway I quickly headed out to the beach, it was a lovely evening fairly calm and a beautiful clear sky.  The comet was fairly easy to spot once you know where to look and just about visible to the naked eye.  I stayed awhile slowly getting use to the environment, finding the best settings on the camera and listening to the odd noises from nearby birds.  You can see the comet in the left hand corner of the photo.  I did try changing from a wide angle lens but realised finding the comet with a zoom lens was going to take sometime and by then I was getting to cold and tired.  So I headed home.  I thought this may also fit the wide angle theme of water since the water of the estuary is also visible in the foreground.

A later rise this morning and the day has been spent collecting food orders, cooking and the arrival early evening of our daughter, son in law and a very tired grandson.  He was put to bed while I then watched an enjoyable zoom presentation with Chris Upton on composition, with others from the camera club.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.