Fantasy

This afternoon, I went to an exhibition of paintings by my favourite Japanese artist, Yoshitaka Amano. This kind of thing was so much easier before physical distancing measures. I had to wait in line for one hour before entering the exhibition room and there were only about thirty paintings on display, most of which I have seen in other Amano exhibitions. However, the one on the poster - today's blip with a detail as an extra - I have not seen before and it is beautiful. A triptych, painted on three black lacquer tiles roughly twenty centimetres square, this was a bargain at ¥1,000,000 (roughly £7,300.)


I took along my copy of Neil Gaiman and Yoshitaka Amano's The Sandman: Dream Hunters, just in case, you know, Amano happened to be there but, surprise surprise, he wasn't. I did get a free postcard and mouse mat though.

Works

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.