Philosophy Friday

"When I am working on a problem I never think about beauty, I think only of how to solve the problem.
But when I'm finished if the solution is not beautiful then I know it is wrong."
R. Buckminster-Fuller

Every self-build forum is full of horror stories and contradictory advice. Phil has been a gold-mine of information, but eventually the buck stops with me and decisions had to be made.
If I nail every third one will bend, and every tenth one will spit the wood. And I can't justify a £600 First-fix nail gun for one project so it will be really hard work. Once it's done it's done.
If I screw then really I need to drill. If I over tighten the wood will split, if I counter sink it will weaken. And the screws will be visible.But I can take them back off and repairs might be feasible in the years to come.

So I've built a jig to make drilling easy. I've accepted you'll see the screws, so I've decided to make a feature of them. The little stainless steel cups also stop them over tightening or countersinking. The symmetry appeals to my ocd tendancies.

Learning as I go, but this, the front elevation, with windows and doors, is potentially the trickiest... Though I'm not looking forward to the curved end panels...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.