simisue

By simisue

ROSE LOVERS UNITE

I have always been an avid reader, but since the onset of the COVID-19
pandemic, that has changed.  It was a mystery why I could read the news 
voraciously, but could not focus on a novel, memoir or travel narrative.
I started numerous books & just could not focus on any of them.

A few days ago, I decided this dry spell is going to end.  I dared myself to at least try  every book on my shelves, until I find a good read.  Luckily, the first book I picked up is terrific, & I read it in 2 days.  How great it is to have that flush of excitement again, after reading a great book.

This book I read is:

CHASING THE ROSE;
An Adventure in the Venetian Countryside
By:  Andrea di Robilant

This book is a kind of fan  letter to roses & historic figures who loved them, including his own relative. It is nonfiction, but reads like a novel, maybe even a mystery novel. I like it so much, I gave it to a friend who is a huge collector of roses.  She is going to read it & we will discuss it over coffee.

This book is an odd choice for me to read, because I have always thought I 
am not a big fan of roses.  My EXTRAS may prove that I am in denial.
On our walk today, I took these photos of roses, &  I also smelled every 
single 1.  

Now what will I read.....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.