Double Shot Mummy

By JPS

Decisions about Maple's feet

As I discussed yesterday, Maple has bilateral metatarsus adductus, otherwise known as turned-in forefeet. It is apparently non-structural, just physical. I think I have made the decision to get casts on her feet to have them corrected in the very near future considering:

1. This is a non-surgical procedure involving no pins or bone breaking
2. Her feet are a lot worse than Bailee's were (Bailee's self corrected0
3. I have seen no improvement with the stretching exercises I have been doing since birth
4. I feel uncomfortable doing the more intensive stretches I was shown as it feels like I am pulling at her hips and knees
5. I think it would be much better to have her feet put in casts before she walks
6. Although there is a good chance that they will still self correct, I don't want to take the chance that they won't and therefore have to put her through something more invasive and traumatic at a later stage
7. I have spoken with a few people that have witnessed children who have had this done and they all said that there was no discomfort to the baby, and it corrected within several weeks

So, she is tentatively booked in to have her first casts put on on the 19th of this month at 440pm. It is probably going to cost us lot's of money but you can't put a price on health and happiness.

Apart from all the thinking today, we had a fantastic day. Kindermusik in the morning. Oscar joined in so well today; I am in love with his singing voice! In the afternoon I took the trio to Appleseeds. We hung out with some 19-month-old triplets.... fun times!

Oscar and Bailee are missing their daddy in Spain. They made him a 'Thomas sticker card' this morning, concentrating very hard. In the end, Oscar announced randomly his one was for Grandma. Of course we had to ring Grandma and tell her and she sounded delighted! Before going to sleep, Oscar exclaimed: "Daddy come back Saturday, come in for a big hug!" I love how they tell me they love me now. Oscar says, "Love you mummy, see you in morning!" Bailee says "Love you mummy."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.