Waterfoot Sunrise

By alasdairb

Light Painting

OK the blip doesn't have anything to do with light painting, but let me explain.

Light painting was the subject matter for the local camera club meeting last night. I wasn't even going to bother taking my camera along as its capabilities are restricted compared with a full DSLR, particularly when it comes to low light shots. However, I was glad I did as Steve put on an excellent outdoor demonstration and practical exercise of how to capture a moving light source with a long exposure. While Dave stood whirling a small ball of burning wire wool, we all fumbled in the pitch dark trying to press the right buttons on our cameras.

It was a perfect evening for the exercise with no wind or moonlight and a star filled sky. After we had taken half a dozen shots or so, it was back inside to review our efforts. I have to say I was quite pleased with the results from my bridge camera, which were every bit as good if not better than many shots from the fancy big cameras!

By the time I got home it was too late to change my blip, so I have done the next best thing and linked my Light Painting blip here, which I would much prefer to be today's blip than a macro of some colourful heather in the garden!

I found the light painting most enjoyable and it has given me some ideas for future blips. Watch this space!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.