Dawn's Journal

By DawnP

Teddington Lock Weir

So today I managed to get a National Trust ticket for Ham House on the River Thames between Richmond and Teddington.  The grounds are fairly compact compared to it's neighbouring estates, such as Hampton Court, but I had a relaxing coffee and stroll around the grounds before finding a quiet spot in "the Wilderness" for my picnic.

Afterwards I took a walk along the Thames Path toward Teddington. Although living relatively near, and previously working nearby for a number of years, I have never seen Teddington Lock, built in 1810, and was amazed by its size. It is just upstream of the border of the river controlled by the Port of London, and still wide at this point, with 3 locks, plus the weir which marks the tidal limit.  Despite the lack of recent rainfall, the water was in full flow over the weir, though not fast enough to deter the Canada Geese from wading in it (extra)!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.