ruth_cph

By ruth_mottram

Camplife

Relaxing in the sun at Jostedalen camp site today. My youngest has the knack of always being able to get comfortable with a book, sometimes in improbable positions...

---------------********-----------


Up early.on a freezing morning 2C measured at local weather station so I decided to go for a run to get my training going for the Haute Route.

I (almost) ran up to Tuftebreen- a glacier I've visited before in Krondalen and yet another fast retreating outlet of Jostedalsbreen.
Fabulous jewel of morning. I got some great pictures of flowers, the huge flock of siskins feeding on seeds in the alipine meadow and what I suspect was a lemming were too fast. But overall I just took in the beauty of the day, what a place...

Then back to camp and the promised "big breakfast" the kids requested. Well we managed that, eggs, bread, cheese, jam, peanut butter, cereal, cakes, fruit and yoghurt plus tea, coffee and juice..

Inevitably the rest of the day was spent just chilling out. After a couple of big days we mainly wanted to do nothing and the weather was perfect for it, in fact so hot that we had to find shade to sit in. We read, built a little dam in the river (also a blip contender) bought ice creams and the kids played with each other, drew and tried to wheels more iPad time out of us... We finished up with a long lazy barbecue and an enormous amount of marshmallows.

Sometimes not much needs to happen for a good day. Last day in Jostedalen tomorrow

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.