Home Safe.

I discovered today that its not as easy as it looks taking pictures of racehorses in full flight. I was at Huntingdon this afternoon to watch some warm up races for the Cheltenham Festival in March. The photos I got of the horses jumping the big fences are OK but not up to the standard you see in the papers. I shall keep trying .

But then I noticed the horses walking back to the unsaddling enclosure after the race. Here you can see Sunny Ledgend (sic) being ridden in after the 2.40 Novices Handicap Steeple Chase (novice horses, not jockeys). His jockey is Mr J Martin and his father, Andrew Martin is walking along side. The stable lass is in attendance. They are deep in discussion of how the race went. No success this time although the horse has won in this category twice before.

In the background is Felix de Giles bringing in Prince Buster.

I take my hat off to the people in the National Hunt horse racing industry. Its a hard life in midwinter when its cold, but they have to keep going with the training regimes. And then there is the travelling. The Martin family who own and train Sunny Ledgend have come up from Chipping Norton- a relatively short trip. Tomorrow they will be going to Bangor for the meeting there.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.