Not a car in sight, day 1 of curfew

After curfew - I did see one car go by.. and a police car. A little different on the highway on the other side of the hotel with the occasional car just after curfew started.. and a few a little later and police patrolling. I’m not convinced it’s going to stop people visiting families, and expats are no longer being tested for free so the numbers aren’t likely to be accurate and will no doubt keep increasing.  
A walk, participated in a colleague’s practice run of a training session which was fun and informative and that was about it for the day.
Oh, and some interesting chats with the hotel staff. There's now more of them staying in the hotel than guests; due to curfew it's easier than having them stay in the company provided off-site accommodation. I was talking with another about Corona; at the beginning of the year we just laughed, now we want a vaccine. And I'm from Africa he said, we'll be the last people to get it, and then there'll be others in the country who get it before I do. 
A little earlier I'd given my washing to A, who's been helping me a bit since I got here. Both A and his wife are having to deal with salary cuts from their local sponsor. He needs to send money home to his family in the Philippines. The hotel has kindly organised a washing machine for us long-stay guests, but this is a better solution (apart from my smalls!). While we were outside talking I was approached by an Indian man asking for money, he has no money, no food. Sadly an all too common event here, it's not the first time I've been approached, and won't be the last, especially where I'm staying now. It's safe, just a different demographic. Their sponsors are quick to take exorbitant fees from them for visas, but are nowhere to be seen now. The same happens across the Gulf. So sad. 
1,067 new cases. Qatar Airways is still advertising flights out from 2 August, but I'm not holding my breath waiting. There are flights to Egypt too, with an easy connection to Greece, but as I got differing advice about whether I needed to be a citizen or have a visa to travel I decided not to chance it. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.