Old skule

I have a feeling that I use this title whenever I use this technology. For the youngsters amongst you, I'll just explain. In the olden days we used to write on pieces of paper and then we'd pay a few pence for the government to carry the pieces of paper to someone so that they could read what we'd written - think of an analogue email if you will. In large cities your pieces of paper might be delivered on the same day, they would certainly be delivered the following day. In 1968 this service cost 5d (less than half a shilling). Today this service might get your pieces of paper delivered the next working day and it costs more than 15/- (76p) - we have many words to describe this but let's stick with "progress".

In addition to my stroll along to the posting box, I've enjoyed some time reading in the garden and I've done a bit more marking and a batch of washing. Back to the day job tomorrow but there is still the last game of the season to enjoy on the television. Not the shabbiest Sunday thus far

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.