Weather............. again

I was up early and got a lamb tagine in the slow-cooker. Lots of pulses, apricots, figs, fresh ginger and Ras el Hanout. 

Once that was on I headed out to get some air and see what the world had to offer. The main offer was drizzle but not enough to clear the windscreen and as the washer bottle was suddenly empty I stopped to fill it up. Having not been under the bonnet for a while I couldn't get in, the guy in the car behind me - also waiting for water - took pity and had a furtle, finally we found the catch and opened it. It wasn't the bonnet release that was hiding, I already know that this is on the wrong side - it's in the passenger footwell.

Anyway, I decided to go to the Marsh to grab some shots and I found myself here. This is near Fairfield Church, a spot I've blipped before. The watercourse is called Five Watering Sewer, these drainage sewers are fed by ditches and dykes and were cut to drain the marsh. The water from some of the sewers is pumped into the Royal Military Canal while others run through outflows into the sea. I also saw a train going across the level-crossing! As they only appear to run along this track when a Preston Guild falls on a Blue Moon I grabbed a shot - it's in the extras bin as proof (I've just checked - they are hourly, it's just that I rarely see them)

On the way home I stopped at a farm stall and got some locally grown cherries and strawberries - they will do for pudding after my tagine :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.