Cool Shade

We ditched our plans to visit a park today because it was just too hot and humid, stifling in fact.  But we needed to get out a bit so Mr Mole drove me to Miles Farmers Market for a few essentials.  On the way home we stopped at Look About Lodge and nosed around a bit on the top of the ridge.  It felt much cooler in the shade of the forest so we walked a bit more, only to discover a recent microburst brought down 5 very old trees together just below the steep steps by the upper waterfalls, filling the entire cavity.  The trees still have fresh leaves and needles on them.  I liked this shot for the sun on the hemlock and the carpet of moss on the ground.

Later at home while Mr Mole was watering, I remarked how I hadn't seen The Rabbit in a few days.  No sooner than the words left my mouth than two recently born bunnies hopped out of one of the flower beds, across some grass, and into another.  They were so tiny I thought they were chipmunks until I saw them hopping.  Mother Nature wins every time. 

I hope your week starts well.  Thanks for visiting.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.