LesTension

By LesTension

RECALCITRANT CICADA

I was at the track for 5 straight days so Monday morning I had some grocery shopping to do. As I carried bags into the house, a common annual cicada dropped off a tree and landed at my feet. I finished carrying in my packages and then grabbed the camera. My intent was to pick up the cicada, place it on the patio table and get a really primo closeup of it. It objected...despite its looking almost dead. Thrice I picked it up and placed it on the table....and three times it "sorta" flew away. It never went but a few feet as it was clearly ailing in some way. Well it was hot out so after my feeble attempts to corral it, I just made the shot while it lay in the grass. So be it.

As an aside, my grandmother used to call these critters "hot birds" as they tended to sing their piercing call on very hot days.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.