A WALK IN THE WOODS WITH AN OLD FRIEND

As we haven’t been out very much since the beginning of the lockdown, we are trying to be more adventurous and go out with friends - but still trying to keep physically distant.  Both Mr. HCB and I are aware that the longer we don’t go out and meet up with friends, the harder it will become - not that we will become recluses, but we realise that we need to make the effort.

We had arranged to meet Julia, an old friend in the truest sense of the word, as we have known both Julia and her late husband, Melvin, for well over forty years.  In fact, we have known them since our boys were very young - I can remember when our older son was a baby we lived just down the road from them.  

We didn’t have a telephone at the time - there were certainly no mobiles in those days - and Julia and Melvin were probably the first of our neighbours to have a telephone in their house.  I remember that when I used to go and stand outside the red telephone box that happened to be on the opposite side of the road to their house, waiting my turn, because there was often a queue, if ever Julia saw me standing there, she would call me over and invite me to use their telephone.  She used to say that instead of waiting outside the telephone kiosk, I should just knock on their door and that I was welcome to use it at any time, but in those days, one didn’t like to bother people, although I knew the offer was genuine.

After that, when we got to know each other better, we used to go on holiday with them and their two children and had lots of great times - some of the stories are still remembered even now and recounted to our grandchildren, who enjoy hearing what their father, our older son, and their children did when they were much younger.  

Although Melvin died almost 12 years ago, we still talk about him and remember him fondly, not least when we are having a glass of good red wine or port, when we raise our glasses and speak his toast, “Cheers, gentle folk!”

Our walk with Julia took us through Lawn Woods and as it is so close to where she lives, she knew all the little paths through and where they led to.  It was interesting to see that the huge grassy area had been allowed to grow and hadn’t been cut very short, but pathways had been cut through the swathes of grass, so the remaining grass had grown quite high and it was lovely to see it swaying in the wind.  Sadly the sun didn’t shine on us, as you will see from my main shot, but it was lovely to be out and to chat as we walked along.  I think that Julia and Mr. HCB chatted more than I did - and yes, that is true - because I was lagging behind and taking photographs - see my extra.  We used to visit this area much more often before we moved, and had forgotten how beautiful it is - so we look forward to more walks there.

Amazing how even going on a short walk with a friend has brought back such lovely memories - we did go and have a physically distanced cup of coffee with Julia when we arrived back at her house and look forward to the next time we get together.

“So long as the memory 
     of certain beloved friends 
          lives in my heart, 
               I shall say that life is good.”
Helen Keller

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.