Lathyrus Odoratus

By lathyrus

The Saffron Butterfly

Morning walk with the spaniel up the steep chalk path to Blackcap and then down into Ashcombe Bottom. I counted 16 species, not bad for a cloudy and blustery day, but all the excitement was in the first ten minutes. A Hummingbird Hawkmoth was zipping up and down the path and I was trying to photograph it when I saw something dark yellow flutter past - it was my first Clouded Yellow of the year, rapidly followed by my second Clouded Yellow of the year. Always a thrill to see this  species (I can still remember exactly where I saw my first one) which migrates all the way from southern Europe in very variable numbers. It brings my species count to 39 so far. 

For once I think Petiver (in 1703) actually coined a better name. He called it the Saffron Butterfly. Clouded Yellow came in 1742 from Wilkes. Other suggestions have included Clouded Orange (1795), Clouded Saffron (1832) and Spotted Saffron (1913).  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.