Rootings

3 to 4 weeks ago I took some cuttings and put them in pearlite.   Then I water one or two times a day and kept the bottoms wet.   Tonight I found that the first cutting has sent out roots to the water source it sat in.
The right picture is the whole cutting, placed in a small pot filled with pearlite.  I would put the pot in a plastic container with water.
      The picture on the left is the pot set on it's side.  It shows the roots coming through the drain hole of the pot.  The roots are reaching down to the water source.   The water then goes to the leaves on top, which make sugars in this case.   On some cuttings, the leaves all die off.  the plant keeps reaching for water and roots are searching for the water source. New buds will pop, leaves will un fold, and the cycle goes  on.  
      I will leave the cutting as is fr another month or so, to really develop a strong web of roots.   At that time I will pot the plant in soil and a small plastic pot, leaving it to grow over the fall, winter and spring.
     This is also part of the joy of bonsai, propagating new plants.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.