The Pepper Patch

By PepperG

Old School

Back in my college days in Maine, more than a few of years ago, I used to enjoy taking long walks through the countryside around Brunswick and Topsham. On one of these meanders I ran across the site of an abandoned Parish House that had little to mark its passing other than the remnants of a stone foundation and a small plaque which recounted a history dating back to the 1700's and ended with the words "only to be vacated and allowed to go to ruin."

Today as I wandered, camera in hand, I discovered the old Summerfield School locked away behind a high fence and barbed wire. There wasn't a plaque commemorating whatever part it played in the village's history but if there was it would be appropriate if it ended with those same words as the parish house in Topsham "vacated and allowed to go to ruin."

I don't know why no one cared or why this was allowed to happen, but it's a shame. It must have deserved better.

....and the adventure continues.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.