PAWS FOR THOUGHT

Lovely day today.

Meeting up with CumbriaLass and Fletch but I ended up setting out a bit later than planned, so grabbed camera and camera bag and dashed out.  I ended up arriving only just before them so that was good.  However I had realised that somehow I had left my purse at home and we were stopping for coffee/lunch at Cafe Ambio after our walk.  So quick phone call to Hubby and he said he would drive over and leave my purse in the glove compartment, locked of course.  He texted me later to say himself and G had delivered purse safe and sound and then gone for a walk just around the area of the Lakeland Motor Museum.

Meanwhile, CumbriaLass, Fletch and had met up safely.  Fletch was excited to see me and barked until I opened the car door for him - then he bounced out, totally ignored me and went sniffing around the car park!!!

We walked part way up Haverthwaite Heights, one day I will make it to the top.  We only did part way because we needed to get back for our cafe reservation.  Whilst on the walk we met a local man out walking with his friend who had come all the way from.................. Kendal!!  They were lovely and interesting.

We then turned back and slowly made our way back to the car park and the Cafe Ambio.  We did see the steam trains a couple of times.  There is something about steam trains that always makes me glow and takes me back to so many lovely childhood days with Dad and his love of steam.

I phoned the Cafe Ambio to assure them that we were on our way but were running late.

We went back to our cars first so I could get my purse, I could change my shoes and Fletch could get a drink.

It took a while to get into the cafe as there was a queue.  People were wearing masks and keeping a safe distance.  I must admit that sometimes I found myself unintentionally closing the gap a bit but always corrected it when I realised.  

We had to leave my name and telephone number for track and trace purpose  There were pens and little labels to complete and hand over to the girls behind the counter.  There was plenty of hand sanitisers - both outside and inside, which I confess I must have used about 6 or 7 times.

The spacing in the cafe was quite good, but we were glad we had booked because they had reserved us a table right in the corner by the windows and we were quite a good distance from the nearest table.

Not a bad experience but it's not one I will be rushing to do on a regular basis, just now and again to meet up with CumbriaLass or my Mum and Sister.

It was a lovely day all in all.  We heard a few birds but didn't see any.  The woodland paths are good but mostly ferns and mosses but we managed to take a few photos.

I trust you are all well and staying safe, social distancing and wearing masks when needed.

See you all tomorrow.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.