Lite as a feather!

I like this very recognizable building in our small town. This small wood church was built in 1868. The building is long and narrow with a small enclosed entrance porch and more recently, an added chancel area. A small bell tower sits on the roof.
I love the gothic look of it. It catches my eye whenever I drive past. You can't really tell from this 'drive by' photo but there are beautiful stained glass windows with the nicest being the rosette window just about the porch roof. I actually held up traffic a bit to get this shot. I stopped at the stop sign right at the end of the road and nobody was behind me when I took out my phone but by the time I opened the car window and focused I had an angry driver beeping away at me. I would have been better off on foot but it was much too cold today.
Besides, I was on my way back from a doctor's appointment and headed to Starbucks for a reward. I'll explain; I was taken into the examination room by the nurse who normally takes your vitals, weighs you etc. Surprise of surprises...she asks me my height and weight. I took a guess. After all I'm not one to jump on the scale every single day and I go to enough doctor appointments that I have a pretty good idea. Naturally I'm going to round down and not up since nobody was checking. So she finishes up with me and the cardiologist walks in and says "Wow, you've been working hard since your last visit!"....I had no idea what he was talking about and probably had a blank look on my face. So he clarifies by saying, "you've lost weight.' Oops! Quickly I realize and say, "Oh yes well I'm always working at it".....whew! I'm sure I did lose some weight but obviously my rounding down made an impression. Ha-ha. So I left the doctors feeling pretty good and was thinking a reward at Starbucks was in order.
Anyway, as a final note on my little church here, it seems it had some famous visitors in the past. Our town was actually known as the 'Brainy Borough" due to some of its prominent residents. Editor of Harpers Weekly, Henry Mills Alden, lived here and had some visitors who included Mark Twain, Helen Keller and Joseph Pulitzer who also made visits to the church.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.