Walking Wombat

By WalkingWombat

Red Rock

I am astonished that it is now just on six weeks since I last posted on blipfoto.  The past few weeks seem to have flown by and now I am reflecting back on what has been a very life changing time for me.  My last post was actually my six year blip birthday and  I have just been rereading the heartfelt messages that so many of my blip buddies wrote on my journal that day.  My wonderful big brother Allan46 pointed out to me yesterday that if I didn’t start posting soon you may all think I had fallen over the edge of the world and might start sending out a search party for me.  

For the past couple of months I have had the joy of spending many wonderful moments with a very good friend who lives on the south coast of NSW in a beautiful little place called Mollymook.  Two weeks ago we decided to go on a road trip together in MiniMo and headed north with the aim of meeting up with the amazing nutritionist who has been working with me since I went to the Eden Health Retreat in March.  The trip has been a real turning point for me and to be driving off into the wild blue yonder everyday with a good friend to share the experience with me has been a great joy.

The image I’m posting today was taken after the sun had set at a beautiful place called Red Rock which is located just north of Coffs Harbour.  I had never been to the area and was astonished at just how picturesque it was.  The area however has a very dark past as it was the scene of a terrible massacre.  The Blood Rock Massacre occurred in the 1880s when Europeans chased a large group of Gumbaynggirr people from their camp at the river to the headland, where many innocent people lost their lives.  It was very sobering and moving to read the plaque the has been placed at the headland.  There is so much about our history in Australia that we were never taught in school.  Much of our dark past still lays hidden from view and that in itself is a tragedy.

Thank you Wildwood for your email today.  I have loved my Zoom sessions over the past few months with you and Oilman and when I return to Sydney next week I will be in touch to see if we can have another catch up.  And thanks Big Al for the gentle push to get me back on track again.

Life is very strange at the moment no matter where we live in the world and it is distressing to see what is happening in our own country with the Covid 19 virus.  I can’t complain though, I am fit and well, in fact probably as fit and well as I have been for many years and enjoying my life and seeing what each day brings.  Being able to jump in the van and head away for a few day may be the order of the day from now on, I can feel it in my bones.  

The graceful pelican in this very moody image looked quite surreal as it floated on the waters of the inlet at Red Rock and I just loved the way it seems to have been enveloped in the reflection.  I have posted an extra of the inlet just after the sun had set.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.