6 Years

I could never have envisaged posting 2,190 images when I first started my Blip Journal.  I certainly didn’t realise that over the six years I would meet such a wonderful group of people both in person and virtually.  We have shared the ups and downs of life with each other and you have been there through heartache and happiness with me.  One thing I have learnt over this time and in particular over the past 12 months is that there is nothing certain in the time we have together with our family friends and loved ones.  

Over the past couple of weeks I have had the great joy of spending time with an old friend in a beautiful area on the south coast of NSW surrounded by majestic mountains and the ever changing sea.  Many walks along the beach at sunrise and sunset have given me the chance to reflect back on my life and how blessed I have been throughout my life.

I want to share a very small piece from a book that was gifted to me many years ago when I was going through a tough time.  It is one that I have turned to over the last twenty five years when life seemed overwhelming.

One never knows what chance treasures these easy unconscious rollers may toss up, on the smooth white sands of the conscious mind: what perfectly rounded stone, what rare shell from the ocean floor.  Perhaps a channeled whelk, a moon shell, or even an argonaut.

But it must not be sought for or - heaven forbid! - dug for.  No, no dredging of the sea-bottom here.  That would defeat ones purpose.  The sea does not reward those who are too anxious, too greedy, or too impatient.  To dig for treasures shows not only impatience and greed, but lack of faith.  Patience, patience, patience, is what the sea teaches.  Patience and faith.  One should lie empty, open, choiceless as a beach - waiting for a gift from the sea.
Anne Morrow Lindbergh - GIFT FROM THE SEA

My love and best wishes to all of my blip buddies throughout the world.  Life is beautiful and I think you will see if you look deep into my soul that I am well on the way to reconstructing my life and healing myself both physically, emotionally and spiritually.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.