The Artist's Eye

By ArtistAnnie

Fauci

My painting is moving along. I must admit I'm having a blast on this project. I've never thought of my self as a cartoonist yet here I am. And what fun it is. So glad Trish gave us this assignment.

The other huge news is that I'm adopting a five month old kitten. I went back to Neko to see what new cats had come in. There were a couple I liked but they just didn't quite fill the bill. And I knew that when I found the right cat it would be sure and obvious. Next stop was the Whatcom Humane Society. I drove over and checked in. I had already submitted my adoption papers online just in case. Neko Cat Cafe is their place so if I'd found any kitties there I'd have needed to have the application ready. But I digress... So they told me where the cats were. And the supply was very very low. Neko had been bustling. At the shelter they had one cat room with stacked cages and it was mostly empty. But I noticed, in a bottom cage, toward the back, a small orange tabby with white on him. I asked to see him and they brought him out of his cage and gave us ten minutes together. What a cutie! He is a dilute marmalade with white paws, a white chest and a white chin. And he's a love bug. It was love at first sight for both of us. He purred and purred and snuggled and even gave me a nose bump. He as much as said, "I want this one." and so did I. So tomorrow I go back to pick him up. He needs a snip and a chip before I can take him home. 

The new kitty has been named Hoagie but I'm changing his name to Cory, short for Corona. Shelly helped me decide on the name. I was concerned he'd not be happy about the new kitten but he is on board and he came up with the new name idea. So tomorrow Cory will join our family. Hopefully Mehitabel will be okay with that. I plan to introduce the two of them very slowly giving each time to adjust to their new situation. I know all about the time it takes to adjust to big changes in your life. Of course I'll take some photos of Cory as soon as I can. Today all my time was spent cuddling him.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.