The Artist's Eye

By ArtistAnnie

New Project

I'm excited by our new project. We are to do a portrait ala Kehinde Wiley. Choose someone we feel is a hero. Set them in a heroic setting. Use pattern. I thought of my father, my son, Shelly, even Duma the cat. But another suggestion for this painting was the phrase "Time for art and art for the time." So I thought of now, and of the pandemic, and of the political situation here in the US. And I realized that Dr. Fauci is a hero of mine. He continues to work for a solution to the pandemic. He stays true to his quest. And he doesn't let anybody bait him into any side fights that aren't leading to the health and safety of the people here in America. So, I decided to make a warrior painting of Dr. Fauci. I looked for warrior subjects, photos of Dr. Fauci's face, the covid virus and another face who will remain nameless. I am really enjoying this project already. I'm doing a watercolor of this but might try a bigger oil painting when I finish this one.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.