Back On Track

Backblip

My daughter and I spent a glorious summer's evening at Brands Hatch. She took her Silverstone Honda S 2000 on track and I went in my yellow S 2000 to support her as her mechanic! :)

It was a Covid compliant event, involving a certain amount of socially distant queuing. Queuing in the pit lane pre-dates Covid but it seems that if one drives a Porsche GT3 it doesn't apply. :) (Main image.)

There had been a bike event on the GP circuit during the day and ours was on the shorter Indy circuit which is in a natural amphitheatre. My daughter loved the undulations as, since driving Spa in 2016, she has been tracking at Bedford which is flat. Some of the other drivers were behaving quite aggressively towards her, I think she was the only female driver, but she took it in her stride, even though she says it was a bit scary at times. I'm very proud of her. We were very pleased that the bungs we collected last week have reduced the noise of her exhaust enough for it to pass the most stringent test they have here, it being an evening event.

I loved all the automotive engine noise but easily tuned into a Spitfire that flew over.

There were very few women to be seen but I spotted one and with permission snapped her "eaten by the worms" tats. (Extras)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.