Berkeleyblipper

By Wildwood

Shelves of Salt

I'm back in Berkeley for a meeting of our book group. Tonight's discussion will be on Wolf Hall.

It's odd to come back "home" when it isn't home anymore , but I have been so well treated by my friends, who have opened their homes, put me up and given me the keys to their houses, that it is becoming a treat to come back. I know where I'm going, I know which lane I need to be in, and I know the best cheese shop in town. Only now I can take my time and browse through the Pasta Shop because I'm on vacation.

The Pasta Shop has three shelves full of different kinds of salt--Hawiian salt, Tibetan Red salt, Malden Sea salt and Fleur de Sel. It wasn't the best picture I took today, but I've always wanted a picture of all that salt, and today I had time to do it.

OilMan is perfectly happy holding the fort even though the power to all our temporarily connected appliances, including the coffee maker, failed during the night last night and we had huge orange extension cords snaking through what was once our living room. I will enjoy having coffee at Peet's in the morning and It will be nice to get back, refreshed by my mini-vacation, and see what progress has been made in my absence.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.