sleepyduck

By sleepyduck

Stressed Girl

This is the fifth in my series The Regulars. They are coming thick and fast now! Which is not to imply that I think any of The Regulars are thick. Oh no. Far from it. I'm sure they are all intelligent, thoughtful people.

You can't really see Stressed Girl's face in this photograph. I'm quite pleased about this. If she were easily recognisable and if she found out that her picture had been posted here, I would be afraid for what this might do to her stress levels.

Stressed Girl invariably has the demeanour of someone who is in a hurry to get to her destination because something bad is going to happen if she is late. If this is indeed the case, I can understand why she is stressed. She walks quickly and with an air of determination. The biggest source of stress, the most aggravating impediment to her progress, is the Bus Stop Dance. This is the scenario, acted out thousands of times a day, where the pedestrian proceeding along the pavement meets the crowd waiting at the bus stop, forming a disorderly queue, wandering towards the roadway and away from the roadway, peering at the buses, paying no attention to the oncoming pedestrian... The extreme form of the Bus Stop Dance occurs when one bus is disgorging its load of passengers whilst another bus approaches. I have occasionally encountered Stressed Girl in the midst of a Bus Stop Dance, expressing her frustration with a barely-concealed "Oh ferchrissakes!". Maybe one day Stressed Girl will bring a machete. On that day there will be carnage in the West End.

I hope Stressed Girl manages to relax in the evenings and at weekends. I hope she manages to enjoy herself. It would be a terrible shame if one so young were to spend too little time enjoying life.

I don't see The Regulars at weekends, but I hope to pick up the series again next week. Have a good weekend everyone :-)

Previous entries:

Cigarette Guy

Newspaper Man

Beanie Hat

The Twins



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.