Rocky Mountain Moments

By pipersmom

Sights from my Bike Ride

I didn't get up early but I was determined to get out for a ride so I got ready and left at 10:30.  Fortunately, it wasn't as hot today and there was a breeze to keep me cooler.  It's funny that I never know where I'm going to go until I start riding but it always turns out to be a nice ride.  I rode 25 miles today. :-)

The top row:  I haven't seen this painted power box before but, being a fan of elephants, I love the artwork.  Next is a Snowy Egret on the bank of the St. Vrain River.  Last is a weather vane at a horse ranch.  If you look closely, you can see the bird "deterrents".
Middle row:  This is the first Covid billboard that I've noticed (not that I've been out much).  It's on a hill above a busy highway.  Next is the most interesting/intricate tree carving that I've seen.  It stands in the middle of a lovely garden.  Last is one of the many windmills that are on farms on the eastern plains.
Bottom row:  Beautiful bronze eagle sculpture at a trailhead along one of the paths I rode.  Next is three American Pelicans training for the synchronized swimming event at the AOG (more about this below).  There is a young Green-winged Teal swimming along trying to learn the techniques.  The last is the sign on a house that displayed Trump 2020 signs.  

The Alternative Olympic Games (AOG) will be starting on the 1st of August!  All the information about it can be found here.  Everyone is encouraged to join the fun!  Many thanks to Debbi (dbifulco) for organizing it again this year!

Update on my knee:  It still doesn't hurt but it is no smaller!  There is still an egg sized lump and the area around it, about as big as my opened hand, is swollen.  I hoped it might be at least a little smaller after three weeks....but I am grateful that I can walk and ride my bike without pain!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.