About to turn

By jMcLean

Night Harvest

Actually it was dusk...one of the plants was waiting with quite a few yellow-orange tomatoes that needed to be picked Right Away. 

I made good time (10 hours) driving up from Tennessee, and except for one squall it was fine traveling weather. An astonishing peachy-gold sunrise this morning. The cicadas are out in force here at home, and it's humid as a sauna. I wasn't tired when I got home, just dazed as I walked around our jungle. Went to buy some gas for the mower and got part way through the yard when the engine conked out. Not good. In the end my kind neighbor Kenny helped me push the mower up the slope to the garage, and then mowed a bit of my yard with his own mower. I'll hire his son to finish it tomorrow and do the whole thing again in a week or two, after I return to Gallatin. 

Poached an egg, and now am ready to call it a day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.