Mail to Messy

By Horomaka

Orion and shooting star

It's been blowing a hoolie of a Nor'Easter in the valley tonight, so I didn't fancy much of a wander by sunset. I was going to be content with a macro inside the house, but with the new siggy lens still mounted on the front of the D300 I thought it might be a good opportunity to test out it's star shooting capability. So I headed out into the gale, set my tripod facing north and made sure it was really low to the ground.

Whilst I didn't stop down for this shot, at least it gave me the chance of a shorter exposure length - which is good when you're not sure if your tripod is going to make it through the shot without being blown over.

It was only when I downloaded the image did I realise that I managed to capture a shooting star in the bottom right of the image, just above the tree line. Now that's a nice bonus.

I'm stoked with the new f2.8 28mm.. To borrow a phrase from the past, "Siggy, I think this is the beginning of a beautiful friendship."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.