Have visa, can relax!

Very happy to get the news that my visa has been extended by another month. With thanks to hotel staff, am so grateful. The Sales Manager again said, we are your family. So kind. This and a business centre so I can print docs for work mean I made the right decision to stay here. And at the same price as the second apartment I stayed in makes it ok. Also happy to learn I get paid at the end of August. My contract wasn’t clear and I thought it was going to be end September.
An unexpected zoom call with a friend I’ve known since I was 15.. we keep in touch a bit. Both surprised and touched to know he still has a gift I gave him way back then.
A good chat with J on reception tonight. Some insights into the lives of the young black African women who come here. Some with the dream of marrying a local to help make their lives easier. Unfortunately once they get pregnant many hopes are dashed, not for all, but.. A few of them are now waiting for repat flights so they can give birth in their own countries, a more socially acceptable strategy. Kuwait also had its fair share of similar stories. I enjoy chatting to the staff here, it’s a multicultural mix, all with different stories. I think they’re grateful for the company too. There’s only two in the afternoon at check in time so they’re on their own a lot. Seven guests and curfew don’t generate much work.
665 new cases today. A much lower figure as free testing has ceased.. and the percentage of positive cases is around 50%.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.