The first Nose Work Search

We met with Bodil and Mille for some Nose Work training today. 

Gollum and Mille did 4 searches each. It was very warm, so I am glad we didn't put up more hides. They were tired, when they were done. 

Tango also had his first little Nose Work training session today.

I put up 4 hides for him and placed food next to them. Then I helped Tango search for the food and when he found it - and the hide, I rewarded with more food.

So he is learning that whenever he finds food, it also smells of lavender. Soon he will realise that lavender means food is coming and then he will start searching for the lavender to get to the food.

I helped him find the first hide - and then he found two on his own. I helped a bit with the last one as he was getting tired and full. It was a successful first session. 

In this picture, he has just found on of the hides (or the food placed next to it). I am ready behind him, to come and reward some more.

See you tomorrow
Emmy and the Hazyland Boys

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.