Avenue B, East Villiage, NYC

Had to get a steamy NYC shot.

The story so far; last minute upgrade to BidnizFirst was a splendid idea.
Woke up 4am, Thursday. Couldn't sleep so got up, had a shower, watched some Californication which is kinda really shit and OK at the same time.
Taxi to airport, 7am. Access to lounge which was great, not as posh as the BA lounge though. It's probably never a good idea that I am allowed to pour my own gins at a free bar, but one must take the rough with the smooth.
The screen wasn't updating so I was not aware that my flight was boarding. I saw a flight attendant speak to a family and leave. Don't know what made me ask but I did; are youse flying to Newark? Aye was the reply. they'd just been told previously mentioned screen was not updating and that the flight was boarding. Thank fuck I asked.
Wee jaunt round to the gate, express queue (fuckin sweet), get to the plane; the lady does not recognise me as the kind of bam that goes in the front. "This way, aye?" I say as i point to the posh bit. "Oh, sorry, yes, come this way".

MASSIVE SEAT. Two windows, glass of Rosé bubbly waiting for me. Free paper, touch screen, fuck! Kinda overwhelmed here. not only is the seat massive but it reclines into a feckin' bed! Sitting next to a Kiwi called Richard who's just been visiting his daughter and grandchild, in Leith. I proceeded to have many gins in an actual glass with lime. Amazing food, on actual plates with metal forks n knives n shit.

It was something I'll remember for some time. Not least because at about 5 hours into the flight, the bug that had been giving me stomach cramps and making Rose's life hell the past week popped up to say hello and allowed me to violently vomit up all the nice food & booze. Ach, weel. Shit happens. Onslaught of very sair heid ensued but as I was in possibly the comfiest of surroundings i counted my blessings and battled on (as Dad would have said, although possibly not in the same context)...

We arrived in Newark just before 3 other European flights which meant our wait at immigration was only about 20 minutes whereas the other flights patrons are probably still there.

Dial7 cab, all the way to the apartment in the East Village and Luz met me there to show me round and give me a key. The apartment is lovely but all I wanted was water, painkillers & sleep. Which I got.

Very sleepless and finally gave in at 4am NYC time. Got up, showered and headed out to 7A which is about 15 minutes walk, open 24hrs and serves booze with breakfast. This turned out to be untrue in this instance; all shut up. So, I meandered along to find some other place for some food, any food. Walked on by Dunkin Donuts, McDonalds etc. and went to this basic nice friendly Mexican cafe. 2 fried eggs on toast, two cwawfees, orange juice and i was feeling better. Three folk that seemed pretty interesting sat down behind me, talking about music. I introduced myself and asked about record shops, clubs etc. The two guys were DJs, gave me pointers and their cards telling me to give them a call and they'll sort me out with somewhere to hang out tonight. We shook hands and they headed off into the increasingly cold morning.
I settled the bill and set off too, found my way back and along the way took the above shot which I'd spotted on the way out. Got some food & liquids and settled down to blip and write all this guff.

So far, I have only met really nice, friendly Yanks and am totally looking forward to the rest of the holiday. There is a hurricane warning for today, 18-24" of snow predicted. It did start snowing as I was walking back. So, looking like record shopping may well be something to do tomorrow.

One Backflip:

Lounge-core

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.