Stuff and Nonsense

By Diane2104

Sparrowhawk #64

A mixed day. This morning I spotted a cancellation on the HPB (Holiday Property Bond) site and just phoned up on the off chance that it was still available. It was 9:30am and the lines open at 9am with properties being snapped up like hot cakes as loads of people look to stay in the UK instead of travelling elsewhere. I was delighted to find that it was still available, so we grabbed it and  tomorrow we are off to Upper Norton near Ludlow in Shropshire. It’s one of 4 HPB sites that we’ve not been to, and only has 21 properties, so is a small site. And the bonus is that it’s “points free” so we saved a ton of points too. 
After the confirmation we then had to check my parents shopping list and popped down to Sainsbury’s to stock up. We will be self catering and once again keeping ourselves to ourselves so feel completely safe and happy to go. 

After a long chat in the garden with my parents we went home, had a late lunch and  then started our research. We’ve never been to Shropshire so planning the route, where to stop on the way, what to do with the week etc is something we always do prior to going anywhere. This time it will be done a bit more on the fly as lots of places are closed, but we will manage. 

We did a bit of work in the garden(not that much as it was very hot) and worked out what to do about the watering in the greenhouse - we don’t want all our lovely tomatoes to die. 

We’d also planned on doing a BBQ this evening but it had started raining lightly at around 5:30 so we had to wait a bit for it to stop. But when it did, we got cracking and it was delicious and we have some chicken and sausages cooked to have cold tomorrow - yum 

Whilst I was sat on the sofa doing my research, I saw in the corner of my eye a large bird fly past. Normally it ends up being a Jay or a Magpie.  I stood up with my camera and crept to the open patio door and there it was - a Sparrowhawk sitting on the fence. It’s a shame about the dark plant behind it, but nevertheless I was thrilled to get a halfway decent shot before it flew off. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.