J0shua

By J0shua

Light Tree House

Todays life lesson: Persistence (yesterday was repetition)

Went up to Observatory hill to look and capture the sweeping landscape of Sydney Harbour and the bridge... light clouds, lots of blue sky, orange sunset, moving ferries.... I had it all - including really strong wind... strong enough to blow the tripod around and all my tricks failed to keep it still for even 2 seconds let alone my planned 16 minutes. Arr well other stuff to get - but nothing really was working for me so just wandered to another spot looking for some inspiration and/or luck. Previous photo ideas on my "to do list" weren't working or available....grrrr sunset has come and gone, I've been wandering around the harbour/rocks for 3 hours - carrying two dslr's today (a first for me). Gotta keep going! there is something here somewhere.

So there is set of signs on a harbour wall that sticks out into the water and I'm there trying to good shots of Luna Park, no luck again... stuff is moving, ferries in the way...wind wind wind (not me). I'm lying on the on the wall and I roll onto my side and there is this view of the opera house perfectly lit up... my first thought ... with the wide angle - boring opera house too small, too much black... anyway a few frames later and ferries getting into the frame (accidentally and deliberately) - I review the shots and notice the tree .... I know this tree well I've photographed it up close several times (never blipped them) .... hmm instantly knew I need f22 for a starburst and long exposure to get the right mix of dark/light - knew it would need a crop in post... One shot - got it - cool lets pack up and go home. So after 3.5 hours of absolute garbage - one shot is all it took!

large tree light & house

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.